Public Image Limited: Metal Box: Super Deluxe Vinyl Box Set + Signed Card
More images

Metal Box: Super Deluxe Vinyl Box Set + Signed Card

Public Image Limited

  • US$131.99
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
Vinyl Box Set
John Lydon doesn't celebrate birthdays, but that doesn't mean you can't!

John will sign 1300 limited edition and numbered cards, with one sent as a free gift for any PiL box set pre-ordered, while stocks last. The cards are embossed with a super gloss finish and measure 148mm x 210mm (A5).

Whoever gets card 1 of 1300 will also win 2 free tickets and a meet and greet with John on his upcoming Q&A tour.

This is the reissue of the seminal albums ‘Metal Box’ and ‘Album’. ‘Metal Box’ was the band’s second album, originally released on 23rd November 1979 and ‘Album’ was their 5th studio album and was originally released on 3rd February 1986, marking 2016 as its 30th anniversary.

The album’s will both be issued as 4 CD and 4 vinyl LP super-deluxe box sets, as well as digitally. The editions will include rare and previously unreleased material along with a live disc. The CD version’s feature additional tracks to the vinyl editions due to running time restrictions, however, the vinyl edition will include a download card for all tracks on the CD version’s. ‘Metal Box’ will be issued in a square metal tin (CD & LP) (the 1979 original was issued in a round metal film canister) with an embossed PiL logo. Both super-deluxe editions will include a 72 page booklet together with an exclusive poster, art-prints (LP version) and postcards (CD version).

With all lyrics written by John Lydon ‘Metal Box’ was recorded with original PiL members Keith Levene and Jah Wobble. Original drummer Jim Walker had left, to be replaced by a succession of drummers. ‘Metal Box’ came out less than a year after PiL’s debut ‘Public Image: First Issue’ yet it was nothing like its predecessor. Things had changed, and so had PiL. 

While outside pressures mounted PiL channeled their energies (negative and positive) into a record that would set them apart back in 1979, and indeed today in 2016. Whether it be John’s powerful and passionate vocals; Keith’s wailing guitar and melodic synths; Wobble’s sub-disco reggae basslines; or the crashing rhythm that holds it all together, ‘Metal Box’ has many strengths. The album was originally released as 3 x 45rpm 12” singles, housed in a metal ‘film’ canister. As made by ‘The Metal Box Company’ in London’s East End; hence the name. The deluxe edition includes rare and unreleased mixes from the recording sessions, along with B-sides and BBC sessions, plus a live recording from a now legendary unplanned show at Factory Records Russell Club in Manchester arranged on the day of a Granada TV appearance.

LP 1 & 2:
‘Metal Box’ studio album

Disc 1 (side 1):
1. Albatross
2. Memories

(side 2):
3. Swan Lake (Death Disco)
4. Poptones
5. Careering

Disc 2 (side 1):
6. No Birds Do Sing
7. Graveyard
8. The Suit

(side 2):
9. Bad Baby
10. Socialist
11. Chant
12. Radio 4

LP 3:
Live at Manchester, Russell’s Club (The Factory) 18/6/79 (unreleased)

Disc 3 (side 1):
1. Chant
2. Swan Lake (aka Death Disco)
3. Memories

(side 2)
4. Public Image
5. Annalisa
6. No Birds Do Sing

LP 4:
Rare Mixes & BBC Session

Disc 4 (side 1):
1. Swan Lake (monitor mix)
2. Albatross (monitor mix)

(side 2):
3. BBC Radio 1, John Peel Sessions 1979
4. Poptones
5. Careering
6. Chant